General Conference is the highest legislative body in The United Methodist Church, where delegates gather from all over the world to consider revisions to church law and adopt resolutions on current moral, social, public policy and economic issues. The General Conference also approves plans and budgets for church-wide programs for the next four years.

General Conference usually convenes once every four years to determine the denomination’s future direction, however, General Conference has been postponed several times due to the pandemic and the assembly was unable to meet in 2020., which means the last regular session was in May 2016.  The coming General Conference, is now scheduled for April 23-May 3 in Charlotte, North Carolina, and comes at a particularly momentous time.

A Beginner’s Guide to General Conference is helpful for understanding how General Conference works.

If you plan to be in Charlotte for the conference, be sure to visit the General Conference Welcome site.

General Conference Clergy Delegates

Tom Pace

Romonica Malone-Wardley

Vincent Harris

Jeff McDonald

Laceye Warner

Todd Jordan

Elizabeth Duffin

DeAndre Johnson

John Stephens


General Conference Lay Delegates

Donald House

Stacie Hawkins

Melba Wilson

Eddie Erwin

Kimbereley Gilmore

John Esquivel

Scott Atnip

Wayne Haglund

Jan Ervin


Jurisdictional Conference Clergy Delegates

Keith Whitaker

Eleanor Colvin

Justin Coleman

Deborah Hawboldt

Pat Sparks

Emily Chapman

Michelle Hall

Lindsay Kirkpatrick

Daniel Irving


Lay Jurisdictional Conference Delegates
During the Laity Session of Annual conference 2024, 10 delegates to 2024 Jurisdictional Conference will be elected. Learn More about the candidates in our Laity Profile Booklet.

1. Open JC

2. Open JC

3. Open JC

4. Open JC

5. Open JC

6. Open JC

7. Open JC

8. Open JC

9. Open JC

10. Open JC