To encourage a diverse group of gifted young candidates to enter pastoral service in the Texas Annual Conference, and to equip local congregations to identify and encourage persons with appropriate gifts and graces and a clear sense of call to commit to pastoral ministry, the Center for Clergy Excellence began to facilitate seminary campus visits and contacts in 2007.

Cabinet members and center representatives continue to visit Texas Annual Conference candidates annually in seminaries across the country, accompanied by young “Ambassadors.” Ambassadors are young Texas Annual Conference pastors, many of whom have recently completed their seminary education at the seminaries they visit.


Ambassadors are trained by the Center and Board of Ordained Ministry members to fully understand the candidacy process and the many advantages the TAC offers young candidates.


In between campus visits, Ambassadors are asked to stay in contact with young candidates and potential candidates, to continue building relationships and advising, and to continue to be available to answer questions.


Fall 2018 Seminary Visits


Seminary                                         Visit Dates             Ambassadors

Duke Divinity School                     Sept. 24-26                Elizabeth Duffin

                                                                                        Shuler Sitsch 

                                                                                         Mike Whang


Perkins School of Theology          Oct. 2-3                      Morris Matthis                                   

                                                                                        Trey Burns

                                                                                        Katie Montgomery Mears


Boston Theological Seminary      Oct. 10                       Gail Ford Smith


Asbury Theological Seminary      Oct. 16-18                  Elizabeth Duffin

                                                                                       Megan Byers

                                                                                       Michelle Manuel


Candler/Gammon                       Oct. 24-25                  Kip Gilts

                                                                                      Marquice Hobbs

                                                                                      Tabitha Mock Rankin

                                                                                      Ruth McPhail-Ubaldo


This work falls within the Clergy Recruitment Ministry Area of the Center for Clergy Excellence, chaired by Rev. Elizabeth Duffin.