Nominations Open For 2017 Perkins Distinguished Alumnus/A Award

Date Posted: 7/7/2017

Perkins School of Theology is accepting nominations for its 2017 Distinguished Alumnus/a Award through Aug. 1, 2017.
Each year, Perkins School of Theology recognizes Perkins graduates who have demonstrated effectiveness and integrity in service to the church, continuing support and involvement in the goals of Perkins School of Theology and SMU, distinguished service in the wider community and exemplary character.
The 2016 DAA recipients were Rev. John McKellar (M.Div. ’90), Pastor of White’s Chapel United Methodist Church in Southlake, Texas, and Rev. Linda Roby (M.R.E. ’00), Associate Minister of Local and Global Missions at First United Methodist Church Dallas. Previous recipients include Rev. Ted J. Dotts Jr. and Dr. James V. Lyles (2015), Rev. Karen Greenwaldt, General Secretary of the United Methodist General Board of Discipleship from 2001-2013 (2014), Dr. Roberto Escamilla and Dr. William K. McElvaney (2013), Dr. Mouzon Biggs Jr. (2012) and Bishop Minerva Carcaño (2011). See complete list of former recipients here.
Nominations must be made in writing, with a letter detailing the nominee's career highlights and other accomplishments. Letters or statements from at least two additional persons must be submitted in support of the nomination as well. 
The award will be presented during the Distinguished Alumnus/a Award Banquet on Monday, Nov. 13, 2017, in the Great Hall of Elizabeth Perkins Prothro Hall.
The person submitting the nomination should compile all materials and mail as one package to:
Office of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations
Perkins School of Theology 
PO Box 750133
Dallas, TX 75275-0133
Alternatively, letters may be sent together as attachments via e-mail to:
Rev. Connie L. Nelson,
Director of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations

More Information about Distinguished Alumnus/a Award Criteria (PDF)
Read about the 2016 Distinguished Alumnus Award Recipients
List of all Perkins School of Theology Distinguished Alumnus/a Award Recipients 
Perkins School of Theology, founded in 1911, is one of five official University-related schools of theology of The United Methodist Church. Degree programs include the Master of Divinity, Master of Sacred Music, Master of Theological Studies, Master of Arts in Ministry, Master of Theology, Doctor of Ministry, and Doctor of Pastoral Music as well as the Ph.D., in cooperation with The Graduate Program in Religious Studies at SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences.