May 7 Deadline for Margie Jordan Award for Excellence

Date Posted: 4/18/2011

Margie Jordan had a heart and passion for small membership churches. She was a tireless worker who believed in the ministry of smaller congregations and local pastors -always urging a strong emphasis on evangelism.


Margie loved her church and was, for many years, the Small Membership Church Specialist for the Texas Annual Conference.


Last year, in her memory, the Conference Committee on Small Membership Churches established the "Margie Jordan Award for Excellence."


Again, this year, two awards will be presented - one for clergy and one for laity for those persons exhibiting those same qualities.


Churches may nominate their pastor or lay member by submitting, either in writing or by e-mail, a paragraph of 300 words or less. Nominations must be received by May 7, 2011 and will be judged by a panel of five clergy and laity - all of whom were friends or pastors of Margie.


Send nominations to Carolyn Huntsman, P.O. Box 386, Lovelady, Texas 75851 or Last years recipients were Rev. Samuel Cutrone and Brenda Storey.


Awards will be presented at the Small Membership Church Celebration on May 31st at the Hilton Americas, Ballroom B at 5:30 p.m.


For more information call Carolyn Huntsman 936-222-4489.