Bishop Huie Returns to Texas, Jurisdictional Conference Concludes

Date Posted: 7/26/2012

The Texas Annual Conference is proud to welcome back Bishop Janice Riggle Huie who is excited to continue her ministry for a third consecutive quadrennium. She is one of only four bishops returning to their previous appointment.


The South Central Jurisdictional Conference is held every four years according to the Book of Discipline.  Each annual conference can send twice the number of delegates that it sent to General Conference. Our delegates were part of the assembly that elected bishops and approved episcopal assignments and retirements. New bishops are consecrated and remain elders in the denomination and members of the Council of Bishops.


Across all jurisdictions, a total of eleven new bishops were elected, and new and existing bishops were assigned episcopal areas to serve.


“I was encouraged by the work of this past South Central Jurisdictional Conference,” Huie said, adding: “The election of three new bishops certainly highlighted the event.  While there were many challenges and at times weariness, we continually celebrated the working of the Holy Spirit in all our endeavors.” 


South Central Jurisdiction "Firsts"

Through the immediacy of five rounds of electronic voting and social media, the announcement spread quickly that Rev. Cynthia Fierro Harvey, endorsed by the South Central Jurisdiction Women’s Leadership Team, was among the 3 bishops elected. Bishop Harvey is the first woman elected as Bishop in the SCJ since 1996 and the first Latina ever elected in the SCJ. She will transition from serving as Deputy General Secretary of UMCOR.


Harvey stated in a recent letter, “It is with mixed emotions that I inform you that I am leaving UMCOR. I am excited about this new direction in which the Lord leads me, and I’m so happy to serve The United Methodist Church in yet another challenging capacity.”


The SJC also elected Rev. Gary Mueller of the North Texas Conference - senior pastor of First UMC Plano and Rev. Michael McKee of First UMC Hurst.


On July 18, the SCJ Committee on Episcopacy comprised of representatives from all annual conferences in the jurisdiction, voted on the involuntary retirement of Bishop W. Earl Bledsoe. After extensive and prayerful discussion, the SCJ Conference voted to place Bishop Bledsoe in the retired relation, effective August 31, 2012. The latest reports indicate he intends to appeal the decision.

Read about the new bishops and assignments that take effect September 1, 2012.

Learn More About the South Central Jurisdiction