Federal  Assistance Includes Right of Appeal

Not every Texas resident who registered for federal disaster assistance following the April storms and flooding will qualify for aid. However, an appeal process can ensure those affected by the storms will receive all aid for which they are legally eligible.

Eight counties are designated for assistance for the April 17-24 storms: Austin, Colorado, Fayette, Grimes, Harris, Parker, Waller and Wharton.

Applicants from those counties have 60 days from the date on FEMA’s decision letter to file their appeal. The FEMA letter describes the amount and type of assistance being offered.


Individual Assistance to Date: As of COB May 8

Registrations approved:   5,474

IHP Total:  More than $27.1 million  

Housing Inspections Completed:  95%        

U.S. Small Business Administration: 61 business and home loans approved for $2,621,400                                                   


U.S. Small Business Administration

Low-interest disaster loans from the SBA are available for businesses of all sizes (including landlords), private non-profit organizations, homeowners and renters. Low-interest disaster loans help fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. Economic Injury disaster loans are available to businesses and private nonprofits to assist with working capital needs as a direct result of the disaster. For more information or any questions about SBA disaster programs, businesses and residents should contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center by calling 800-659-2955 (Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals may call 800-877-8339), or visiting SBA’s website at www.sba.gov/disaster.


Other Disaster Assistance Information and Referral Services

Texans seeking information about disaster-related services and unmet needs should call 211, a statewide information and referral service. Anyone using a relay service should call 877-541-7905. 


Disaster Unemployment Assistance:

DUA is now available for workers and the self-employed who have been unable to work because of the disaster. DUA applies to those living inside or outside a designated county whose work has been affected.

To apply, call 800-939-6631 or go online to http://www.texasworkforce.org/jobseekers/unemployment-benefits-services. The deadline to apply is May 27 for Fayette, Grimes, Harris and Parker counties and June 2, 2016 for Austin, Colorado, Waller and Wharton counties.


Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs)

  • Representatives from the state, FEMA, SBA and other agencies at the centers can provide guidance regarding disaster recovery and rental resources; explain written correspondence from FEMA; inform survivors of the status of their application; make referrals to other organizations and answer questions.
  • Survivors in any of the designated counties may visit any DRC location.


Grimes County

Todd City Mission – City Hall                                    

21718 FM 1774                                                          

Plantersville, TX 77363


Harris County

Cypress Creek Christian Church & Community Center

6823 Cypresswood Dr.

Spring, TX 77379


Lone Star College- CyFair Library

9191 Barker Cypress Rd.

Cypress, TX 77433


Katy Park

24927 Morton Road

Katy, TX 77493


Bayland Community Center

6400 Bissonnet St.

Houston, TX 77074


Foundry United Methodist Church

8350 Jones Road  

Houston TX 77065


Imperial 20
16800 Imperial Valley Drive 
Houston, TX 77060

LSC-University Park

Energy & Manufacturing Institute
11521 Compaq Center West Dr. 
Houston, TX 77070


Waller County

Brookshire Civic Center

4010 4th Street

Brookshire, TX 77423


Hours of Operation at all locations: Mondays through Fridays- 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Saturdays, from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. and closed Sundays.


Disaster Survivor Assistance (DSA)

DSA teams have started outreach in the designated counties for IA.

FEMA is working closely with the state and county emergency management coordinators for any additional planned DSA activities.


National Flood Insurance Program

If a survivor who owns a property in a FEMA identified floodplain and is non-compliant with obtaining or maintaining their flood insurance and has previously received federal disaster assistance, they will be ineligible for the home repair portion of housing assistance. However, they may still be eligible for rental assistance.

FEMA has a National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) call center to support NFIP policyholders. Call 800-621-3362 from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday.


Preliminary Damage Assessments

Joint Preliminary Damage Assessments (PDAs) for Individual Assistance and Public Assistance are being scheduled and/or conducted in additional counties impacted by the severe storms and flooding.


Disaster Timeline

The incident period for severe storms and flooding is April 17-24

April 25: Federal major disaster declaration for Texas.       

Fayette, Grimes, Harris, and Parker counties are designated for Individual Assistance.

May 2: Amendment # 1 adds Austin, Colorado, Waller and Wharton counties for Individual Assistance