Spiritual Directors

Spiritual Direction:  An Invitation to Grace

Spiritual direction is a ministry of contemplative presence, an ongoing process of self-discovery and deepening relationship with God. In confidential, one-on-one meetings between a qualified director and a directee, the relationship focuses on guidance in recognizing and responding to God’s moment-by-moment presence in the directee’s life. As unique as the individuals involved, each relationship honors the diversity of the human spirit and the many ways in which God offers grace and love.

Referrals for Spiritual Direction

As you seek a spiritual director, we desire to help you. In the Texas Annual Conference, our Gathered Community of Spiritual Directors refers spiritual directors living in covenant. Our covenant spiritual directors agree to live by a communal rule of life and to fully and completely follow the ethical guidelines of Spiritual Directors International.We recommend that you ask anyone you are considering as a spiritual director if they follow ethical guidelines.

See the SDI guidelines or see a list of suggested questions for potential spiritual directors. 

 If you are interested in

  • talking about how spiritual direction might assist you in your spiritual journey,
  • finding a covenant spiritual director in your geographical area or one who offers various technological options,
  • finding a presenter for a spiritual formation workshop or day of prayer
  • joining our community of trained spiritual directors so that you can be referred as a TAC Covenant Spiritual Director.  ALL trained spiritual directors in any program and of any faith tradition are invited to join us for continuing education, days of renewal, and online prayer without joining our covenant.  Sign up to be added to "The Gathered Community of Spiritual Directors" mailing list. 

If you have questions or want more information, please contact Rev. Cindy Serio, Gathered Community Coordinator,  via phone 832-330-3973 or email at cserio@m-sfm.org.

We’d love to hear from you!

The Gathered Community Covenant Spiritual Directors:

Fran Ayres
903-574-6884
ayresfran75@gmail.com 
Tyler Area
 
Dan Barcus
281-387-7571
dbarcus1@comcast.net 
Northwest Houston Area
 
Gail Barzilla
979-255-1118
rocky6377@icloud.com 
College Station Area
 
Rev. Glynden Bode    
281-222-4385
glyndenbode@gmail.com 
Greater Houston Area
 
Connie Bovier    
832-385-4726
cjbovier@earthlink.net   
Bay Area/South of Houston
 
Becky Burks
713-202-0040
beckyburks4@gmail.com 
Greater Houston Area
 
Kelly Burnett
281-222-6769
kelly@inspirewomen.org   
NW Houston/Cypress Area
 
Kelli Davis
979-220-5650
kellidavis5@hotmail.com 
College Station Area

Rev. Dan Gilliam
903-288-5807
dgilliam1@gmail.com 
NE Texas/Daingerfield Area

Cindy Henderson
713-444-4747
henderson.cindy@sbcglobal.net 
Tomball Area
 
Judith Ann Hunter    
281-583-2012, 713-882-6144
judithahunter@gmail.com     
Northwest Houston/Spring Area
 
Karen Kelley
281-480-2760  
karenkelley75@yahoo.com        
Houston/Clear Lake Area     
 
Rev. Leah King    
979-732-1395
leahking@twc.com 
Columbus Area/West of Houston
 
Karolyn Larimore
936-524-1760
karolynlarimore@gmail.com 
Conroe Area
 
Vera Lewis
832-409-8826
sjvlewis@yahoo.com 
Northwest Houston
 
Lisa Mage
paxinhim88@yahoo.com 
N/NW Houston, Tomball/Cypress Area
 
Mary Ann Matthys
281-797-0518    
mamatthys@gmail.com 
Website: http://consecratetheday.com/ 
Villa deMatel/Sealy Area
 
Betty Milburn
979-777-6252
bmcmilburn@gmail.com 
Austin/Cedar Park Area
 
Jenny Misslin
979-324-2969
misslinj@hpumc.org 
Dallas/Highland Park Area
 
Cheryl Moye
clmoye77@gmail.com 
    
Becky Oates
713-562-8637
havenofrest@earthlink.net 
College Station Area
 
Ann Paxton
281-705-0056, 936-494-3979
annpax@consolidated.net 
Conroe Area
 
Kathy Reiter
713-876-6403
kathy.reiter@live.com 
College Station Area
 
Cynthia Schoonover
713-494-4909      
cschoon47@gmail.com  
Katy/Far West Houston Area
 
Rev. Cindy Serio    
832-330-3973
cserio@m-sfm.org 
Website:  http://www.m-sfm.org/ 
Southwest Houston/Katy Area
 
Vicki Simmons
713-298-6003
vicki@vickisimmons.com 
The Woodlands Area
 
Lynn Staggs
281-222-9677
lstaggs@hotmail.com 
SD by Technology