SPSARV to Host Webcast of Live Book Discussion on Addiction and Recovery

Date Posted: 4/27/2011

The United Methodist Special Program on Substance Abuse and Related Violence (SPSARV) will host on April 27, 2011, a live webcast on the autobiography Lust of a Dope Fiend with author Jerome Livingston about his deeply personal struggle to overcome addiction to drugs and alcohol and eventual recovery.

 

The online book discussion with author Livingston, which is set to air at 7:00 pm Eastern Standard Time, will delve into his powerful story where readers will hear firsthand about the dark world of addiction, his spiral downward, and the painful steps taken to work towards recovery.

 

SPSARV is a general church initiative that coordinates the denomination's global response to alcohol, chemical abuse and dependency, and related violence, and is administered by the General Board of Global Ministries of The United Methodist Church.

 

The webcast is part of SPSARV's Hope, Healing, and Health Reading Circle, an online book club for congregational drug and alcohol ministry teams and individuals and families battling addictions. Book readers are invited to enter into a respectful dialogue through an online community to share their thoughts and actively engage in meaningful discussions.

 

Rev. Cynthia W. Sloan, SPSARV Program Associate, will facilitate the webcast's book discussion with Livingston for the first half-hour, and will then take questions submitted before the broadcast and in real-time online from readers. Participants are encouraged to read the book beforehand, but it's

not required to participate in the webcast.

 

"Jerome Livingston is a living miracle," said Sloan. "His pain, hard work, and honesty from which he speaks are a testimony to recovery and the work of God in one's life…against all odds."

 

Webcast participants will also learn about SPSARV's work to equip United Methodists to respond to substance abuse in their communities and worldwide. "The webcast is a platform to share Jerome Livingston's poignant story and for SPSARV to utilize new technologies to reach congregations on

how to connect with SPSARV's resources and trainings," said Antonietta Wilson, executive secretary of SPSARV.

 

The live webcast will be broadcast on April 27 at 7:00 pm EST (6:00 pm CST, 5:00 pm MT, and 4:00 pm PST), and can be accessed at gbgm-umc.org/live. All questions for the book discussion should be submitted to spsarv@gbgm-umc.org by Monday, April 25.

 

For more information on SPSARV and the webcast, please visit www.umspsarv.org. For more information on the book, please visit author Jerome Livingston's website at: www.thestrongwillsurvive.com.